The Message Board for the Philippine Printing Industry (Established 2007)

HomePortalFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 

Dark Pictures in Pagemaker

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Archer

Number of posts : 58

PostSubject: Dark Pictures in Pagemaker   Sun Jun 24, 2007 9:02 pm

Some pictures in Pagemaker sent to us were very dark, I checked the link and the original pictures looked good. This happened when it was converted to CMYK. How to remedy this?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Flexoto

Number of posts : 61

PostSubject: Re: Dark Pictures in Pagemaker   Sun Jun 24, 2007 11:29 pm

The same thing happen when you convert RBG to CMYK in Corel. What I am doing is I keep it as RBG and let the separation house do the work. Somebody told me that you have to convert RBG to CMYK in Photoshop before importing it although i haven't tried it. Again, I am not an expert. Let's listen to the experts. Hey guys help us as this is also my problem. Maybe you have a better solution. Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.printers-mart.com
ibler

Number of posts : 112

PostSubject: Re: Dark Pictures in Pagemaker   Sun Jul 01, 2007 1:15 pm

I am not an expert on this topic but here's what i learned through the years.

There are lot of factors to consider. Most will involve a thorough check of your color management system if you have one.

However, there is an easier way to do this. First off, convert the image to cmyk already. Import the image into pagemaker and link it to the original file. Do not embed the image so that pagemaker (and other pre press devices) will use the settings of the original file.

Also check your pagemaker color settings. There are a lot of profiles to choose from. Just pick out the best that works for you. It will also be helpful if the settings you use for pagemaker are also the settings you use in your other photo/image editing applications.

Question: